Cancer is Stupid…

… Really really stupid.

BUUT today is such a proud day!  DD has finished her Taxol treatment!!!!!!  This means that she has finished the chemotherapy phase, and after a 3 week break will start radiation.  For those of you who I keep up with personally, because DD is behind Soonie in her treatment schedule- this means that both of my loved ones are Chemo free!!!  Way to be, if ya ask me. Big H keeps us updated on days she has treatment through a group text.  It is a great method and probably saves him a lot of time and trouble.  This is what happened today:

It just makes me laugh.  When I think about BigH and his hand in all of this, I cannot even imagine what he feels like.  To be in the thick of it, with the person you love the most- but not be able to have any affect on how things play out, would totally stress me out.  But he has been able to keep a mildly humorous perspective.  I think he, and DD, are fully resting in the fact that the Lord’s hand is guiding this little detour of their lives.  I only hope my heart would be capable of such peace.  Husband and I often joke that we see a lot of similarities between his parents and us.  He obviously is like his dad, and I am a lot like DD, especially for not being blood related.  We get and understand each other in a very “Type A” way 🙂  Watching them weather this storm in their lives as we navigate our first year of marriage has given me such encouragement and hope for where we will be later in life!

So like I said, she gets a 3 week leave of medicine then starts her radiation.  Soonie is in her 2nd week of radiation and has been doing splendidly.  It give me hope DD is on the upswing!  Soonie was able to get her hair colored last week and it is like a super cute pixie cut length right now!  We keep telling her to keep it like that, but I doubt she will.  It makes me feel good that I’ve got such strong women on both sides of my family.  If the Lord blesses me with a daughter, she is going to make it just fine.

As any AU fan would say “We’re half way there, woah-oh livin’ on a prayer.”

Here’s to the power of prayer!


One response to “Cancer is Stupid…

Leave a comment